Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

Auger leaking gas
LSF Member
From Park Rapids, MN
I just bought a brand new Eskimo Mako 10" auger. If I leave it standing up, I can start it in one or two pulls. If I lay it down, no matter which way I set it (gas tank up or down) I've noticed gas leaking on the ice (the little rainbow patterns that spread over the top of the water). If I leave it lying down like this for any period of time, it takes sometimes 20 pulls to get it started and I've tried with the choke on, off and in between. If I lay it with the gas tank down, it drips out of the cap, but I can't get the cap on any better than it already is. If I lay it with the gas tank up, it seems like the gas runs down into the engine and it almost seems like it leaks MORE that way. Does anybody know any way to prevent this or is this a common problem? BTW, this is my first gas auger, so I'm new to it.

Posted on: 2012/12/2 16:55
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Auger leaking gas
LSF Member
From BUFFALO
I had the same problem with my mako, I bought a new gas line and grommet for the tank and also a new gas cap all for around 25 with shipping from eskimo.com. it fixed the problem and now it doesnt leak. if its new enough see it its under warrenty

good luck

Posted on: 2012/12/2 16:59

LSF Member
From BUFFALO
And put the tank side down

Posted on: 2012/12/2 17:00

LSF Member
From Willmar Area
I had one that leaked also,I put a shut off valve on the fuel line between the tank and carb.$2.00 fix

Posted on: 2012/12/2 18:09

LSF Member
I also had this same problem with my Eskimo, i put a new gas cap on last year and it fixed the problem. But i have noticed the same thing with the gas leaking from the carb and was hoping to try to fix that also.

Posted on: 2012/12/2 19:36

LSF Member