Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Non-Oxygenated Gas
LSF Member
From South West Metro
I may be a little slow on the uptake, but I have recently been clued in to the benefits of running non-ox gas in my carbeurated, two stroke engines, and for all marine applications. Seems that fuels mixed with ethanol will more readily take up water which can cause stalls, and corrosion on internal engine parts. It can also create varnish in the carbeurator. Non-ox gas will run better in your engine, and you will actually get better gas mileage as well. The drawbacks are that it is usually a higher octane (91-93), which can mean deposits in the engine from gas that doesn't burn off all the way because higher octane fuels burn slower and at a higher temperature. Non-ox is also more expensive...

What do people think about marine and small engine fuel? I'm no expert, so I'd be interested to hear the opinions of other LSF'ers who are.

Here is some info I drew my statements above from in addition to the advice the folks who are currently working on my engine.

Sportsmans Blog on Gasoline

List of Gas Stations that Offer Non-Oxygenated Gas in Minnesota and Wisconsin

Posted on: 2009/4/2 10:16

Calling fishing a hobby is like calling brain surgery a job.

Whack em and stack em!
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Non-Oxygenated Gas
LSF Member
From St. louis Park , MN
I run non- oxy in both my boat and wheeler its the best for your engine it keeps the valves clean because it burns alittle hotter than premium gas

in (IMO) its well worth the extra $$$.

Posted on: 2009/4/2 10:23

LSF Member
From Lower Manitou Lake, Ont.
I run Non-Oxy in all my snowmobiles, Atv, outboard motors, lawn mower, weed eater, chainsaw, small generators. I guess I run it in everything except my work truck.

I have never had a problem ever so I will continue to run it. I guess for the little bit extra $ it has been well worth it.