Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 3 »

Rainbows Through the Ice
LSF Member
Hey guys. I just moved into Clearwater County recently and have been testing the waters of area lakes. I am also pretty new to trout fishing in general. I was able to catch some trout in the area over the summer, and I caught a few last winter as well, but not many. There doesn't seem to be much information out there about catching Rainbows through the ice. I am going out this weekend to give it another try. I was wondering if anybody could give me any pointers about preferred tackle and bait for rainbows, and what kind of structure and depths to look for fish in. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Posted on: 2012/1/24 12:02
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Rainbows Through the Ice
LSF Member
From Park Rapids (Itasca State Park)
For tackle and bait pretty much anything you'd use for panfish works well. Typically I tip whatever I'm using with waxworms. Stocked rainbows like we have around here basically just roam around. Some guys fish shallow (15' or less), some guys fish deep. I've had better luck out deep (40+') than shallow, but I haven't fished shallow all that much. The best tip I can give you is to start fishing 6' or so below the ice no matter how deep you're fishing! It seems odd to be staring at your bait 6' down in 60' of water, but it works.

Let us know how it goes!

Posted on: 2012/1/24 13:27

LSF Member
I spend alot of time chasing rainbows in the winter. My suggestion is to fish no more than 10 ft depth and keep your bait in the top 5 ft. And dont be shy with them, a rainbow through the ice is the most aggressive fish ive ever encountered. I use small to medium rapalas. Keep jigging constantly until you see a mark on the sonar, then lightly play keep away with them, itll drive em nuts. Good luck!!!

Posted on: 2012/1/24 14:23

LSF Member
hollywood_pete,