Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Smoked Lake Trout Brine
LSF Member
From Brainerd/Nisswa
I have a couple of lake trout I am going to smoke up for an upcoming fishing trip to LOW just looking to see if any one has any good brine recipes. Thanks for the Ideas!!

Posted on: 2013/1/21 7:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Smoked Lake Trout Brine
LSF Member
From andover
this is a recipe i use for all smoked fish fillets. i leave the skin on.

1 cup non iodine salt
1 cup brown sugar
2 quarts water

mix up the brine. brine 6 hours. then take the fillets out and pat dry. i let them stand for about an hour and then put the fillets in the smoker for about 2 hours at 150 deg and then turn it up to 175 for an hour and a half. now the time may vary with the cold temps outside and what type of smoker you have. i have a Masterbuilt electric digital and this timeframe works for me. good luck.

Posted on: 2013/1/21 8:02

You Know You Have Gone Too Far When You Turn Your Fireplace Into A BBQ Pit.

LSF Member
I do the same as reinhard,only I use kosher salt and brine for 12-24hrs,then put a smoked paperika and herb rub with brown sugar. on the flesh,smoke with maple wood

Posted on: 2013/1/21 11:10

LSF Member
I use same brine mix, kosher salt, the real dark brown sugar. Brine 12 hours, dry for 2-4 hours and smoke with Alder chips at 170-180 for no more than 5 hours.

Posted on: 2013/1/21 12:36

LSF Member
From Brainerd/Nisswa
Thanks guys I used put it in a brine last night going on the traeger when I get home from work. might take a little longer to smoke little chilly out today. Used the following for brine.
1 cup kosher salt
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup garlic powder
4 quarts water

Have you guys ever done like a baste on it when its finishing up to give it a little extra flavor. Was thinking of basting some with a little teriyaki and saracha to give it a kick. Thanks Again