Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Spring walleye
LSF Member
From Bemidji
Hi guys. I am new to the Bemidji area. I moved up here in February and now am a nurse at Sanford. I stumbled upon this site the other day and it looks very helpful. I do not have a boat at this time, but am already looking forward to the walleye season already. I was just wondering if there was any spots to fish from shore around walleye opener that would be worth a shot? I have waders and a car so any help would be great.

Posted on: 2013/3/20 21:27

Re: Spring walleye
LSF Member
You could go up to Red lake there are a few spots where rivers come out where you can get some nice eyes they move up the river to spawn. You can fish from shore there I have not been there but some people I know go there. in Bemidji I would look at the river come in and out of the lake like I said the walleyes go there to spawn. Welcome to the site lots of nice people on here, plus you can learn a lot from them plus we can learn from you welcome!!!!!

Posted on: 2013/3/20 21:47
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

LSF Member
Try this site to it is MN DNR recreation compass it shows every lake in the state with all the info and all the maps.
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/maps/compass.html

Posted on: 2013/3/20 21:53

LSF Member
From North Central MN
Years ago when I went to BSU we fished off of Diamond point and the inlet to Lake Bemidji for the Mississippi on the south end. We had good luck for eyes casting Lindy rigs with a minnow or leech. We also would cast smaller crank baits that also worked well. Also check with the local DNR fisheries office and see if they have suggestions for shore fishing. Good Luck on the opener!

Posted on: 2013/3/21 7:02

LSF Member
From Richmond/Blackduck Mn
you are welcome to join me and my family on Blackduck for the opener or anytime we have a cabin there and are there most weekends PM if interested