Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Trout Fishing/Camping question
LSF Member
Any recommendations on good places in SE MN where I can fish for trout and camp nearby? Preferably a state park, but just because I have a pass. Looking for a good place to spend a weekend, have a shot at a big'un, and not be likely to get skunked :) Was looking at Whitewater, but fear that I may have more company than I'd like.
I'm a pretty beginner level trout-er, but I got hooked on a trip to Wyoming last summer. Use spinning rod/tackle, so my ideal streams are more rocky and less downed trees - any pointers?

Posted on: 2014/5/6 23:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Trout Fishing/Camping question
LSF Member
From Maplewood
Have you looked at Forestville State Park?

Posted on: 2014/5/6 23:27

LSF Member
Looks promising. Thanks :)

Posted on: 2014/5/6 23:53

LSF Member
From Maplewood
Yup

Posted on: 2014/5/7 6:57

LSF Member
Whitewater state park is another great option, fishing and camping all In the park

Also Hay Creek campground, it's right on the creek (it's not a state park thou)

Good Luck !

tonkatom

Posted on: 2014/5/7 7:47

LSF Member
Boy I guess its early (didn't see your Whitewater fear)

as far as spin fishing, panther martin spinners are my go to lure #2 or#4 size silver blade, yellow body w red dots

pull them quickly down stream along the grass edges, and below a deep pool or where water is moving around boulders

work your way UP stream as not to spook the fish as much,
tread softly, stay low, I always wear earth toned clothing or camo

Hope it all helps...

tonkatom

Posted on: 2014/5/7 7:57

LSF Member
Thanks for the input - I actually fished Hay creek this last weekend (just the bottom section close to town) and got about a half dozen browns of decent size (~10").
I was looking at Carley until I realized their campground doesn't open til Memorial Day.