Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

Brown Trout
LSF Member
From Detroit Lakes
I fished this creek in the Detroit Lakes area apparently there are brown trout and possible brookies in it. It averages 12-15 ft wide and 1.5-2 foot deep. It has an average flow rate and mostly under a canopy of hardwoods. lots of curves and winding with the curves mostly being shallow and wide. not much room to cast for the majority of the river and has quiet a few fallen trees in it. Its about 1.25 miles long and flows into a large local lake. I went out last night saw no rises and had no bites. It did storm here yesterday morning so that may have slowed the fish down. I am new to trout fishing in Minnesota and in general but typically use fly gear to fish them. any input on how to tackle this river that may produce some fish would be much appreciated!
Thanks

Attach file:

jpg  sucker creek.jpg (2,365.71 KB)
26018_5391e06fdc375.jpg 2448X3264 px

Posted on: 2014/6/6 10:39
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Brown Trout
LSF Member
From Minneapolis
If you didn't notice any rising fish, I would try swinging some streamers near the downed trees and undercut banks, if they are present, especially in off-color water after a storm.

Posted on: 2014/6/6 13:48

LSF Member
From Maple Plain, MN
Wow, that looks very challenging! Hats off to you for giving it a shot. I would imagine, especially between storms, that this spring creek is very clear. I think small spring creeks are some of the most difficult to fish because the trout are spooked so easily in the thin, clear water. The first step is to always wear subtle earth tones and move slowly. Even the vibration from your feet will spook them 20 yards away before you even see them. Many times no matter how careful you are, you need to just stay put for 10-15 min before you even cast to let them settle down and move back into their feeding lanes.