Bait & Tackle Shops
Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

Solar panel installation
LSF Member
Hey guys, I am pretty new to ice fishing and honestly have done more reading on here than posting but have a question about solar panels. I have a 7 watt panel that I would like to put on my wheelhouse that I have slowly been working on. It would simply be used to trickle charge while I am away. My question is, does this need to connect directly to the batteries or can you actually charge them by connecting to a 12v power outlet in the house? I have a 120v converter power station in the house for plugging in a generator etc. When I hook the solar panel to the 12v outlet, occasionally but not always I will blow my main fuse for the batteries at the converter when switching between battery power and 120v. I have disconnected the solar panel and so far things seem "normal". I was hoping to be able to wire the solar panel permanently but am coming to the conclusion that I cannot hook things up this way. Has anyone else experienced this or maybe I am just wrong in thinking this is possible. I do not have a voltage regulator for the solar panel. Any thoughts are appreciated, thanks.

Posted on: 2014/12/30 20:21
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Solar panel installation
LSF Member
From Oslo, MN
I have a new Ice Castle that has the 20 watt solar charger on it and it has a controller box in between the solar charger and the battery but is goes right to the batttery. I ended up having to have a switch that shut everything off when I am not there cause all the things in the house drained the battery enough that the solar panel couldn't keep up. Hopefully this is helpful for ya. Good Luck

Posted on: 2014/12/30 22:46

LSF Member
From North Metro "Coon Rapids"