Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Waterfowling in the 1970's & 80's
LSF Member
From Southcentral, MN
Anybody here old enough to have hunted way back in the day? I started shooting at age 11 which was back in the early 1980's. Lots of ducks back then.

opening day, if I remember correctly, was always the first Saturday in October. Trying to reminisce, I believe our bag limits were mostly teal, woodies & where we hunted, the occasional mallard.

What did your bag limits consist of back then?

Posted on: 2016/9/4 16:07

Re: Waterfowling in the 1970's & 80's
LSF Member

Posted on: 2016/9/4 16:54
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

LSF Member

Posted on: 2016/9/4 17:00

LSF Member
Hunted just before we had the early teal season. Seemed like we always had ducks around, but then the tile started to go in, and things have changed. This was mostly Kandiyohi County.

Posted on: 2016/9/4 18:31

LSF Member
From Central MN/Blackhoof
We had access to two spots on the same farm, one pothole out in the middle of corn, and one way back in the woods. Teal, mallards and the odd diver now and then in the big field pond, mostly woodies and mallards in the other.

We graduated to big-water diver hunting after my Dad showed us how to make simple not-quite layout boats.

I had to take '78 off because of that. I was cutting out the bottom of a new boat using a pattern and some special low saw horses we made specifically for this. I hit one of the metal sawhorse brackets, the circular saw kicked back so fast that the blade guard never had a chance to cover the blade. I took off the top of my kneecap, severed a bunch of nerves, and made a mess of the quad. Spent most of that fall in a wheelchair.

And did my Dad show any sympathy? Heck no, I still get crap from him every time we are working together and pick up a circular saw....

Posted on: 2016/9/5 10:12

LSF Member
From Southcentral, MN
Ouch that sucks!