Bait & Tackle Shops
Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

Lake Calhoun
LSF Member
I am new to ice fishing this year. Anyone ever ice fish Lake Calhoun? I know the City doeant allow gasoline boat motors there in the summer. Are there any restrictions against gasoline augers or ice fishing in general on Calhoun?

Posted on: 2016/12/30 0:41
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Lake Calhoun
LSF Member
I heard that gas augers are allowed, haven't done it myself. Also have heard big fish are in Calhoun but again I haven't fished it, will be trying this winter at some point

Posted on: 2016/12/30 10:36

LSF Member
From Lake Lillian, MN
Gas augers are allowed per city rules. It has some large fish in there including stocked muskies. I've gotten some dandy walleyes out of the lake in the 15-20 foot range. Watch out for thin ice near the canal by lake street.

https://www.minneapolisparks.org/activities__events/winter_activities/ice_fishing/#group_2_233393

Posted on: 2016/12/30 11:23

Anonymous
Calhoun is deep, so it seems to freeze slowly, especially at the north end. Check the ice often if you go out this weekend.

And post a report when you get back!

Posted on: 2016/12/30 11:26

LSF Member
From bloomington
Very deep and slow to freeze. Harriet's the same. Usually several inches behind all other local lakes. Try to find weeds. Fish of deep edge of weedlines or in cuts in weedline .look at map not hard to find. I prefer Harriet. Lots of places to fish close to shore. SE corner is a good spot to start.

Posted on: 2016/12/30 20:36

Field Staff
From South Minneapolis
As others have said gas augers are OK. I have tried calhoun a few times but also prefer harriet as there is usually easier parking and walking on than on calhoun. both offer decent fishing for in the city and there is a ton of structure to explore.