Fishing Guides
Bait & Tackle Shops
Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

Depth Finder/Ice Fishing Electronic
I am looking to buy a depth finder for my boat but also want an ice fishing flasher. I am wondering if there are any GOOD devices that can go on the boat and be used for ice fishing.

I have a 14' Aluminum Fishing Boat with a 15h Johnson on it. I am new to fishing so I know absolutely nothing. I don't know what works and what doesn't. but I figured a depth finder would help on the boat to find fish and see whats below me.

I also am beginning the ice fishing gig so I know very little there too.

any suggestions.

Posted on: 1/7 23:25:21
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Depth Finder/Ice Fishing Electronic
LSF Member
From West Fargo, ND
check out the humminbird helix 7. There are a couple other threads on this forum discussing it as well!

Posted on: 1/7 23:56:02

LSF Member
From South Metro
I just bought a helix 7 for just those reasons. Wanted to upgrade both soft and hard water units. Bought the helix, ice transducer, mounted them to a "blue genz box" as seen on vexilars, now have vastly upgraded both units for half price. Nice thing with helix is you can have your lake maps right on the screen, get to your spot, switch to sonar and go! Plus have all your marked hot spots from summer!

SD

Posted on: 1/8 9:01:29

LSF Member
I have no personal experience with the Helix line but a buddy of mine has one that he uses on his boat in open water and goes portable on ice. He loves it especially with the charts that you can access. If you are looking to spend less, you can get a Vexilar FL8 for ice and then get a boat mount kit for use in open water. They have the mounts and the transducers.

Posted on: 1/8 9:55:05

LSF Member
From South Metro