Fishing Guides
Bait & Tackle Shops
Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Trying out topwaters. Should I be worried about northern teeth?
LSF Member
I'm a novice, trying out topwaters up in Voyageurs over the holiday weekend. I'll be in a few portage lakes known for large mouth bass.

Will northerns strike my lures?. How often would a northern strike break my line? I'm using 12-pound mono onto 2.75" poppers and props, and I do not want to lose the few lures I'll be bringing. I've read leaders are detrimental to topwater fishing, but I'm unaware of the severity.

Thanks for any advice.

Posted on: 5/22 19:13:01
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Trying out topwaters. Should I be worried about northern teeth?
LSF Member
From Minnesota
If you run a buzz bait you should be ok. If you run topwater without a leader you will be taking your chances. Bring some short 6" wire leaders and give them a shot.

Posted on: 5/22 20:05:11

LSF Member
Wire leaders will hedge your bet against losing your lure to a pike, but it will definitely mess up the action of your topwater.

If it was me... Pike will hit topwater, but are less likely to hit topwater than they are to hit diving baits like a tail dancer, shad rap, or spinner bait. 12lb test is good. A little heavier (17) might be better, but 12 is good strong line. I'd bring a few extra lures, set my drag stiff to get fish into the boat quickly and directly without a lot of head-thrashing, and retie often - definitely after every pike, walleye, or larger bass. If doing that or using a steel leader are my two choices, I'd avoid the steel leader.

Obviously it's your choice, and your mileage may vary.

Posted on: 5/22 20:26:35

LSF Member
I have been making small 3-5" fluorocarbon leaders that seem so work great. I.catch a lot of bass and northern without losing lures due to bite offs. I use 50lb flouro. That's just my 2 cents.