Products & Services
Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 3 »

Satellite Set up
LSF Member
This is my first year with a skid house, I'm out of the red door, anybody know what angle satellite has to be at and/or what direction it needs to pointed (i know its usually to the south). When i bought the house it had a direct tv dish on it, got a box from mother-in-law and hope to get it to work. Thanks

Posted on: 1/16 9:51:46
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Satellite Set up
LSF Member
From Princeton
I believe mine is at 34 degrees. you will want to point south/south west.

Click menu/setup/signal locators then signal strength. you will get a beeping sound along with a percentage signal. The faster the beeping the stronger the signal. 90% should be good. If you do not get a good signal, lower the degrees a bit and try again.

Posted on: 1/16 12:03:15

LSF Member
From North Branch MN
You will need a compass to get the Azimuth set and the dish needs to be set to the right elevation., there may also be a skew..? The fish house needs to be fairly level but doesn't have to be perfect and the post that supports the dish must be level. As the prior posting said then use the receiver and tune it in.

Check this web site for dish settings and use the Malmo zip code 56431.
http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/customer/dishPointer.jsp

Posted on: 1/16 12:18:20

LSF Member
Thanks guys, i will try that

Posted on: 1/16 12:32:59

LSF Member
Another quick question for you guys since you seem to know what you're talking about. It is just a standard old nothing special dish, i got box from mother-in-law thru her service, its an hd box, satellite i dont believe is HD does that matter? (obviously i realize i wont get HD thru that antenna)

Posted on: 1/16 12:56:28

LSF Member
From Saint Paul