Important Links
Classified Ads
Contact Us & More
Minnesota Fishing Reports

(1) 2 »

Fall bait options?
LSF Member
From EGF, MN
I am fairly new to fishing for eyes in the fall. I am wondering what bait do you guys prefer? Shiners, Redtails, creek chubs, chubs? Or something else..? Where can you buy redtails and creek chubs? And how expensive? I wont be fishing until the end of september, so i am hoping the minnow bite is on by then.

Posted on: 2012/9/8 11:50
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Fall bait options?
LSF Member
From St. Cloud & Nisswa, MN
I perfer either red tail chubs or creek chubs, although walleyes in certain lakes seem to key in on large shiners. I've even seen lakes that were great chub lakes change from year to year to shiners. I believe it is a direct connection to the a successful cisco forage base from year to year. River shiners look like tullibee.
Also, don't forget about frogs. Walleye will gorge themselves on them when they enter the shallows to hibernate in the mud for the winter. The window is very short but can be outstanding.
Any good bait shop will have chubs..... for awhile, and as the supply gets lower the price can sky rocket. I catch my own and keep them alive until prime time. A tradition my Father and Uncles passed down that I truely enjoy. Besides I live for chasing huge fall walleye; with the best bait that gets bit. Not only quality but quanity and price, definitely are also considerations in keeping minnows.
The minnow bite is always on, but as fall keeps getting colder, the big minnow bite just gets hotter and hotter.
As the sun goes down, the shallow crankbaits come out though; and the chubs can rest up until the next afternoon.

Posted on: 2012/9/8 13:06

LSF Member
From Detroit Lakes/Fargo, ND
The biggest redtails and rainbow chubs I can find!

I'm about 50/50 using live bait and large plastics in the fall such as Trigger X.

Posted on: 2012/9/8 14:56

LSF Member